Leave a comment

A Spring Pick-Me-Up

Spring is a wonderful thing, but it can be a bit challenging in North Dakota. One day it can be 70 degrees and the next day it’s snowing! The weather forecast for this upcoming weekend doesn’t look all that promising so this morning I decided I needed a spring pick-me-up, so….I’m on the hunt this morning… For buffalo!

What better is there in this world but a morning drive out to Sullys Hill in spring time. Sure, the grass isn’t green yet and there is still ice on the lake. But the birds are singing and there is movement on the ground.

I drove in the gates with my camera armed and ready. I looked left and I looked right, but no buffalo! Sometimes I get lucky and they are down by the gate, but not today. Today they are going to make me work!

Sully Hill National Game Preserve Look Out

I decided to take the overlook road and hike to the top to see spring in action. It was a long walk. I can say I’m a little out of shape after this long walk. But I made it. I could hear the sounds of a woodpecker as I made my way to the top (even over the sound of myself grasping for air!) How beautiful the site! I didn’t stay as long as I would have liked because the wind was starting to pick up already but I did get to take in the natural beuty.

I made my way back down and got back into my car. I drove about a 100 feet out of the look out area and their they say…. The buffalo!

Sullys Hill Buffalo

All resting in what little sunshine they could find. The babies laying in the grass.

I will be back in a couple of weeks to check on their progress, see how big they are getting and hopefully see some green grass.

Sullys Hill National Game Preserve

Leave a Reply

